Day 4 ~WHEN YOU ARE WRITING, DO YOU PREFER TO USE A PEN OR A COMPUTER?~


NaBloPoMo November 2011
Writing Prompts

 October 31, 2011 3:29 pm by Melissa Ford in NaBloPoMo
Friday, November 4, 2011
When you are writing, do you prefer to use a pen or a computer?

What a great topic to write about whether I use a pen or computer to do my writing?  I do both.  I love to make notes and doodle ideas into a notebook as a matter of fact I am a huge notebook, journal type gal.  I have a notepad next to my computer for writing ideas and such.  I easily transfer those thoughts into a post I wish to write about.

On the other hand if I am in a huge hurry, I either have posts already in my “Save Draft” mode of wordpress.  I easily add to it or just post photo’s as it’s easier when I have nothing really to say.

Although I wish to write and become an author and am currently working on my ebook and looking to self publish next.  Oh how I love to write!  Pen or computer takes me away into a world where I hope to touch all of my readers.

Related articles

17 Responses

  1. I’ve written two books and I’ve found it much easier to do so when typing. I can type faster than I can write and so it’s easier to get on a roll that way.

  2. […] When you are Writing do you Prefer to use a Pen or a Computer? […]

  3. […] Day 4 ~WHEN YOU ARE WRITING, DO YOU PREFER TO USE A PEN OR A COMPUTER?~ (thebloggingvalley.wordpress.com) […]

  4. I compare writing on paper versus a computer, to the world of photography: film camera versus digital.

    I tried becoming a photographer through the use of film cameras but I didn’t like the failures of equipment or the time delay in processing. Once I began using digital cameras the more I shot. The more I shot, the better I got. Vicious cycle! After studying art and photography and shooting tens of thousands of pictures I can see the difference. I lose less things by being digital. If I mess up a shot its easier to redo or fix. Most of these same principles apply to the world of electronic writing. As my pursuit of “I want to take it everywhere” has lead to having my iPad with me almost all the time. I enjoy several things, art, photography, cooking, my dog, my business but writing consumes me. Writing is what I want to do, what inspires me, and drives me. I can not escape it for great lengths of time.

  5. […] Day 4 ~WHEN YOU ARE WRITING, DO YOU PREFER TO USE A PEN OR A COMPUTER?~ (thebloggingvalley.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Day 4 ~WHEN YOU ARE WRITING, DO YOU PREFER TO USE A PEN OR A COMPUTER?~ […]

  7. it depends! Sometimes I prefer writing with pen and paper but other times I prefer writing on the computer! Most of writing is done on the computer for sure!

  8. […] Day 4 ~WHEN YOU ARE WRITING, DO YOU PREFER TO USE A PEN OR A COMPUTER?~ (thebloggingvalley.wordpress.com) […]

  9. Pens are best for personal correspondence, but I usually prefer writing on computer.

  10. I used to love hand writing, but now? The computer is so much faster. 🙂 And my new phone has voice technology. That opens a whole new can of worms.

  11. Huzzah for journals and pens! Thanks for stopping by the Periphery. Looking forward to seeing what comes from all my fellow scribblers.

  12. Lyn, I should do that…record my thoughts at times, great idea! I don’t have an IPhone. Thanks for your comment today.

    • You’re very welcome, Jackie! The voice record function comes in handy when a thought comes to my mind and I can’t stop and write. I can always transcribe later. 🙂

  13. i honestly can’t remember the last time i wrote – instead of typed. what a novel idea 🙂

  14. Once upon a time, I used to keep a little notepad in my pocket so I could write down things that come to mind.

    Nowadays, if there’s something I want to record, I use the Notes function in my iPhone or record a voice memo.

    I do love writing… I just wish I had more time to do it. 😦

    @Jackie, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

  15. I always keep a little notepad in my purse just in case I need to jot something down! It’s helped me a lot when I need new ideas to blog about! 🙂

  16. http://www.blogher.com/nablopomo-november-2011-writing-prompts

Leave a Reply

