“Do Your Regular Friends Read Your Blog?”


“Do Your Regular Friends Read Your Blog?”

Ironically, the most consistent support for my blogging efforts comes from people who were once strangers, but are now part of my online family. These folks, most of whom I’ve never met in person and probably never will, are my biggest and best supporters.

While I don’t remember where I first heard it, I have loved it and followed it ever since.
“What you think of me is none of my business.”

The other advice I found in “The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz. When I read these two agreements, “Don’t take anything personally.”
We almost all tend to do that and it causes problems for us. If someone does something, we think it is about us, being done to us. In reality, it is all about them. The other is:
“Don’t make assumptions.”
People make “assumptions” and then proceed to take actions based on their assumptions. That’s why you need to avoid thinking about what you think they may be thinking about.
If you haven’t read the book, here is a mini-review. In my opinion, every needs to read this book–or at least the four chapters on the agreements.
http://www.janetcallaway.com/the-four-agreements-a-review-by-janet-callaway-the-natural-networker/

What have you to say about this topic?

5 Responses

  1. That’s so true.
    It’s completely different life out here in the blogging world. Like a family.
    People sharing each others thoughts, feelings, qualms, etc and thus helping each other get better.

  2. I know that most of my family and friends do not read my blog. It is okay because I love to do it.

  3. Nope, none of my regular friends read my blog. I don’t think any of them are writers. I can’t even get them to read my book! Like you said, though, I’ve made great friends through blogging. Even the once a month passers-by are fun.

    It’s nice to link up with people who can relate to what you are going through.

  4. You are so right, assumptions are so I often wrong. I hear people say, “So and So did this because…” How do we know why someone did something? Sometimes I don’t even know why I do something!

  5. Jackie, aloha. Thanks so much for the connection. Don’t you just love that book? Such powerful messages in such a short book.

    Best wishes for a terrific week. Until next time, aloha. Janet

Leave a Reply

